Betting On NHL Eastern Conference Online

When you mention the National Hockey League’s Eastern Conference, two names come to mind: Sidney Crosby and Alex Ovechkin.

Crosby, captain of the Pittsburgh Penguins, and Ovechkin, captain of the Washington Capitals, have both been under the microscope since breaking into the NHL one year apart. The NHL marketed the Eastern Conference between the two players, who play in the Metropolitan Division.

Crosby has been widely regarded as one of the greatest ever to play in the NHL and his performance on the ice has proven as much. The Pittsburgh Penguins have won two Stanley Cups — in 2009 and 2016 — with Sid the Kid leading the way. While the Capitals haven’t been as fortunate, Ovechkin has still been one of the best players of this generation. The Great 8 has led the NHL in scoring and won the Rocket Richard Trophy six times during his illustrious career.

Finishing first in the Eastern Conference doesn’t necessarily mean the road to the Cup final will be a cakewalk. 

An example of this is the Washington Capitals, who have dominated the regular-season standings, yet have had trouble sealing the deal each year. Take the 2015-16 campaign for instance; the Capitals couldn’t have asked for a better season. More than 50 wins, the Caps dominated the Eastern Conference en route to winning the Presidents’ Trophy as the top team in the NHL.

That’s not to say betting on a favorite will backfire. In 2016, the Pittsburgh Penguins finished second in the Eastern Conference before rolling through the post-season and winning the franchise’s fourth Stanley Cup crown.

In 2014, the New York Rangers shocked the hockey world by reaching the Stanley Cup final as the Eastern Conference’s fifth seed. 

Half of the teams in the top 10 teams in the NHL were from the Eastern Conference during the 2016-17 season That is a good way to measure how a team from the conference may perform come playoff time.


What Are The Current Eastern Conference Standings

The NHL Eastern Conference standings are listed below and perusing the information contained within should be a priority of your daily regimen if wagering on NHL Eastern Conference games is something that might be of interest to you. With five of the so-called Original Six NHL teams housed within the Eastern Conference, rivalry games are frequently contested and those games are a dream for a bettor, because the historical significance of those match-ups generally lead to hotly contested games and upsets are frequent occurrences. [+]

With so many game-changing stars and show-stopping netminders at work on a nightly basis, finding solid wagering opportunities on NHL Eastern Conference games shouldn’t take much time to locate. 


Eastern Conference Online Betting Tips

The history present in the NHL Eastern Conference runs deep and traditional rivalries are everywhere you look. The Montreal Canadiens have been in the NHL since the day the league was born in 1917. In fact, the Canadiens won their first Stanley Cup title in 1916, one year before the NHL was formed. In 1929, the New York Rangers and Boston Bruins contested the first all-American Stanley Cup final.

The Ottawa Senators were the first NHL team to win consecutive Stanley Cups, while the Detroit Red Wings were the first team from the U.S.A. to capture back-to-back crowns.

The conference was founded in 1974 as the Prince of Wales Conference when the NHL realigned its teams into two conferences and four divisions. The Montreal Canadiens hold the record for most conference titles with a total of 25. In 1993, the names of each conference and divisions were changed to reflect their geographic locations.

The Toronto Maple Leafs were the first NHL team to win 50 Stanley Cup final games and from 1947-49, the first to earn three straight Cup titles. The Canadiens won a record five Cups from 1956-60 and from 1980-83, the New York Islanders became the first team from south of the border take four straight titles.

In fact, 15 of the 16 NHL Eastern Conference teams have played in the Stanley Cup final and all but three teams have earned the right to hoist Lord Stanley’s mug aloft.

Where Can I Bet On The NHL Eastern Conference Online 

Are you ready to put your money on an Eastern Conference team? Here are a few of the leading online sportsbooks to choose from before placing your bets.

# Bonus Our Review Claim Bonus