Betting On Preakness Stakes Online

The Preakness Stakes was run for the first time in 1873 and is the second jewel of the most sought-after prize in all of Thoroughbred racing – the Triple Crown. The Preakness Stakes is held every year at Pimlico Racecourse in Baltimore, Maryland and is traditionally scheduled two weeks after the Kentucky Derby.

The Preakness Stakes is a Grade 1 race that is contested at a mile and three-sixteenths. The purse has varied between $1 million and $1.5 million over the years. The race traditionally attracts some of the top three-year-olds in the country and barring injury or incident, the Kentucky Derby winner will generally compete to try to move one step closer to immortality. The challenge of the Preakness Stakes for the [+]

Kentucky Derby winner is a combination of the quick two-week turnaround as well as the fact that often times they are facing fresh rivals who sat out the Run for the Roses. 

The Preakness Stakes is known for having a raucous infield party in the center of the track and Pimlico is typically filled to capacity for their premier event.  

Preakness Stakes Betting Sites

Horse racing is one of the most enjoyable sports to wager on due to the speed of the event. Within the span of a lightening-quick two minute run, winners are made and champions are born. Choosing between all the different racebooks can be a bit of a chore, but it’s worth it to make sure you find the best bonuses, rebates and other promotions that help tilt the odds in your favor.

# Bonus Our Review Claim Bonus


Preakness Stakes Winners

The Preakness Stakes had one of the most eventful and memorable editions in recent years in 2015 when the skies opened up and the track was hit with a deluge of rain during the post parade. Undeterred by the sloppy racetrack, Kentucky Derby champion American Pharoah rolled to one of the most impressive victories of his career. He would go on to become the first horse since 1978 to sweep the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes and win the Triple Crown.

The race has been won five times by fillies defeating male rivals, most recently in 2009 by Rachel Alexandra who now holds a spot in horse racing’s Hall of Fame. She was the first filly to win since Nellie Morse in 1924. Smarty Jones earned the largest margin of victory at 11 1/2 lengths in 2004 while the untouchable Secretariat holds the speed record, finishing the race in 1:53:00. Louis Quatorze nearly beat Secretariat’s mark in 1996 by finishing with a time of 1:53.40.

In 2016, Nyquist too faced a wet track but he did not excel over it like his predecessor, American Pharoah. Exaggerator romped over the off track and denied Nyquist a chance at the Triple Crown.