Betting On Belmont Stakes Online

The Belmont Stakes is the final leg of the Triple Crown and the resting place of attempts to capture all three of these prestigious events. As a result, the Belmont has earned the nickname “The Test of the Champion”, as the entire field gets a final chance to deny the crown to winners of the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes. In fact a total of 23 have won the first two legs of the triple crown before faltering at the Belmont.

Part of the difficulty is the length of this race. At 1 1/2 miles on the dirt track, the Belmont tests the endurance of even the most formidable race horses, most of whom cannot rely solely on raw speed to win. The purse of this Grade One race is $1.5 million, with $800,000 going to the winner. This race takes place at [+]

Belmont Park, during the first or second Saturday of June.

Similar to the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes, the Belmont Stakes is an historic event that started during the 19th century. Since its inception in 1867, this competition has taken place every year with the exception of 1911 and 1912 when the state of New York briefly banned gambling activities such as horse racing. 

Belmont Stakes Betting Sites

Placing a smart wager on your favorite to win makes the Belmont Stakes that much more exciting, especially when a Triple Crown favorite attempts to sweep the final leg. Plenty of racebooks provide smooth gambling services that make it easy to enjoy prognosticating the race. Check to see what sort of deposit bonuses, betting bonuses and wagering rebates that these companies offer. Signing up with the racebook that works best for you can increase the odds of taking home a nice payday. 

# Bonus Our Review Claim Bonus


Belmont Stakes Winners

Considering the number of horses who have won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes, it’s always a risky proposition to bet on a horse to complete the feat at the Belmont STakes. 2014 provided a fine example of this axiom, as heavy 3-5 favorite California Chrome faded to finish fourth behind Tonalist at 8-1 and Commissioner and Medal Count at 20-1. American Pharoah proved the exception to the rule, completing his sweep of the Triple Crown in 2015, becoming the first since Affirmed in 1978 to do so.

Only nine foreign horses have won the Belmont Stakes, with Canadian thoroughbred Victory Gallop becoming the last non-U.S. winner in 1998. Filly winners are also rare at the Belmont. In 2007, Rags to Riches became the first filly to win in over a century, the previous being Tanya in 1905.

Secretariat, king of Triple Crown races, holds the speed record for all three events. In 1973, he flew across the finish line 31 lengths ahead of the competition, finishing with a time of 2:24.00. The next fastest time belongs to Easy Goer, who finished a full two seconds behind Secretariat in 1989.