Back Australia to shock India and win 2023 Cricket World Cup Final

Dean Etheridge
By , Updated on: Apr 9, 2024 08:00 PM
Back Australia to shock India and win 2023 Cricket World Cup Final

India and Australia meet in the final of the 2023 Cricket World Cup final in Ahmedabad this Sunday. India is the favorite to win the competition, but Australia is the most successful team in the history of the competition. In our latest cricket betting picks, we preview the match and tell you who is the best bet to win.

  • What; 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Final
  • Who; India vs. Australia
  • Where; Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, India
  • When; Sunday, November, 20th 2023
  • Time; 3.30 am ET

This is the 48th and final match of the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. The venue is the Narendra Modi Stadium, the largest stadium in the world with a seating capacity of 132,000. And this Sunday, the majority of those 132,000 people will be supporting India, the host nation, and to date, by far the best team in the competition.

Betting to win the 2023 Cricket World Cup

India’s superiority is reflected in the betting to win the competition. Captained by Rohit Sharma, India is -225 to win the 2023 Cricket World Cup. Their opponent on Sunday, Australia, is +175 to win the match.

Throughout the competition, India has been the betting favorite. Pre-tournament, they were +200, and as the competition progressed and India swept all before them, they were continually trimmed, eventually going into the knockout stage at -120.

After a 70-run win over New Zealand on Wednesday, India was again cut in the betting, this time to their current odds of -225.

Australia started the competition as the +433 third favorite. Can you believe England was ahead of them? Well, it is true. But once the competition got underway, it was pretty clear that it was the South Africans who were the biggest alternative threat to Australia and India, rather than the English.

The South Africans quickly emerged as the second favorites to win the tournament. But once the Aussies confirmed their place in the knockout stages, the five-time winners moved back ahead of the South Africans in the betting.

More betting options to win the competition can be found on our Cricket World Cup betting table.

India vs. Australia BettingBovadaBetOnlineBetUS

Unbeaten India looking to sweep the competition

India won nine from nine in the round-robin group stage, and they made it ten from ten when they defeated New Zealand in the semi-final on Wednesday.

Most of their wins were emphatic, hardly even contests. They defeated South Africa by 243 runs, Sri Lanka by 302 runs, England by 100 runs, Pakistan by seven wickets, and in their group match against Sunday’s opponents, India defeated Australia by six wickets.

Aussies running into form at the right time

Australia started their World Cup campaign slowly, losing their opening match to India and their second match to South Africa. The defeat to the South Africans was a crushing blow, with the Aussies losing by a huge margin of 134 runs.

Since the loss to South Africa in Match 10 of the competition, Australia has turned things around. Pat Cummins’ team won their remaining seven group matches to qualify in third place, and they have just completed their eighth successive win with their 3-wicket semi-final victory over South Africa in the second semi-final.

Players to follow in the World Cup Final

Virat Kohli has scored a monster 711 runs in ten innings. His record-breaking performances at the World Cup have seen him score three 100s and five 50s. Kohli is a +260 favorite to top score for India in the final.

The truly outstanding player of the World Cup has to be India’s Mohammed Shami. The pace bowler missed the opening four matches of the competition but still tops the wicket-taking charts with 23 wickets in six innings. His performances have just been out of this world. Shami is +250 to be the top Indian bowler against Australia.

Mohammed Shami To be top Indian Bowler

Travis Head scored 62 against South Africa in the semi-final, and along with his 2/21 with the ball, Head was named Player of the Match. In his five innings, Head has scored 192 runs with one 100 and one 50. That puts him way behind David Warner in the run-scoring stakes for Australia. Warner has 528 runs in his ten innings. But either man has the potential to play a match-winning knock in the final. The best cricket betting online sites make Head +400 to be the top Aussie batter, and Warner is the favorite at +375.

Adam Zampa (+333) is the top Australian wicket-taker with 22 wickets across the tournament. But if the Aussies are to win their sixth Cricket World Cup on Sunday, we feel it will be a contribution from a consistent performer like Mitchell Starc (+333) or Josh Hazlewood (+333) at the top of the innings with the ball that wins the match for the Aussies.

Josh Hazlewood To be top Australian Bowler

Our 2023 Cricket World Cup Winner Pick

At the start of the competition we named Australia and South Africa as our picks to win the competition. India has been outstanding, but at times against New Zealand in the field, they looked to be very nervy.

The Aussies are the best side in the world at exploiting the opposition's weaknesses, and they will have picked up some handy tips from India’s performance against the Black Caps. We are staying true to our pre-competition pick and backing Australia to win the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

Australia To win 2023 Cricket World Cup

Make sure you check out our top-rated sportsbooks below. These are our recommended betting partners that you can read more about on our sportsbook reviews page:

Meet the author

Dean Etheridge

Dean Etheridge has over ten years of writing experience in the world of sports betting. Starting out as a hobby on his own soccer betting website, Dean has now seen his picks published across various affiliate sites along with The Sun and TalkSPORT where he writes regul...

Online Sports Betting may receive compensation if you sign up through our links. Rest assured, we avoid biases and provide honest opinions on sportsbooks. Read more here.