Judd Trump Favorite To Win 2024 Masters Snooker

Henry Shepherd
By , Updated on: Apr 9, 2024 08:00 PM
Judd Trump Favorite To Win 2024 Masters Snooker

After the conclusion of the UK Championship Snooker final on Sunday, we now have the full draw for the 2024 Masters.

Defending champion Judd Trump is set to face Kyren Wilson in the opening round of the 2024 Masters at Alexandra Palace. Meanwhile, world number one Ronnie O'Sullivan is poised to go up against Ding Junhui. A rematch of their clash in the UK Championship final, which O'Sullivan emerged victorious last Sunday.

Scheduled to unfold from January 7 to January 14, the tournament exclusively features the top 16 players in the world rankings. Join us to we see if any value can be found in the betting odds.

  • What? 2024 Masters Snookers
  • Where? Alexandra Palace, London
  • When? January 7 to January 14, 2024

Below, you can see the odds for this highly anticipated tournament from three of the best sports betting sites.

Judd Trump+400+400+330

Judd Trump

England's Judd Trump secured his second Masters title by defeating Wales' Mark Williams 10-8 in the final of the 2023 tournament.

He reached the semi-final of the UK Championship, losing out to Ding Junhui. In the quarter final against Mark Selby, he recorded his 1000th career win.

Trump admitted he wasn’t at his best during the UK Championship. However, he is widely acknowledged as one of the most skillful players in the sport, he presently holds the fifth position in the historical ranking of event winners, boasting 26 ranking titles. Additionally, he has secured four Triple Crown titles. He is rightly the favorite for The Masters and will be hard to beat.

Judd Trump To win 2024 Masters Snooker

Check out our Bovada sportsbook review to find out if it's the best bookie for your snooker bets.

Ronnie O’Sullivan

World number one Ronnie O'Sullivan is set to face Ding Junhui in the round of 16, marking a rematch of the thrilling UK Championship final won by O'Sullivan. In a spectacular showdown at the Barbican Centre in York, O'Sullivan won with his signature lightning finish, prevailing over Ding Junhui by a score of 10-7.

This win marked O'Sullivan's 40th ranking title and holds special significance as it coincided with the 30th anniversary of his maiden triumph at the 1993 UK Championship, achieved during his teenage years. With this latest victory, O'Sullivan now boasts an unparalleled eight UK Crowns, contributing to his remarkable tally of 22 Triple Crown titles.

Turning 48 on Tuesday, O'Sullivan remains at the pinnacle of the snooker world and is poised to add to his impressive record as he competes in the upcoming prestigious invitational event next month, aiming tfor his 23rd Triple Crown title.

Ronnie O'Sullivan To win 2024 Masters Snooker

Elsewhere in the first round, world champion Luca Brecel is set to face Jack Lisowski, while debutant Zhang Anda is scheduled to go head-to-head with the 2015 Masters champion Shaun Murphy.

Masters Snooker first round draw

  • Mark Williams v Ali Carter
  • Mark Selby v Robert Milkins
  • Judd Trump v Kyren Wilson
  • Mark Allen v John Higgins
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan v Ding Junhui
  • Neil Robertson v Barry Hawkins
  • Shaun Murphy v Zhang Anda
  • Luca Brecel v Jack Lisowski

The Masters Snooker

The Masters is a prestigious professional invitational snooker tournament, dating back to 1975. This annual event, the second longest running professional tournament after the World Snooker Championship, is a cornerstone of the snooker calendar and holds Triple Crown status. Judd Trump is the reigning champion.

The tournament originated as an invitational event for the top 10 players, with John Spencer emerging as the inaugural champion. Since 1984, the competition has adopted a format inviting the top 16 players in the world rankings, occasionally featuring two or three wild-card entrants between 1990 and 2010.

A select group of eleven players has secured victory in the Masters on more than one occasion. Ronnie O'Sullivan holds the record with an impressive seven titles. Stephen Hendry boasts six, including an unprecedented five consecutive wins from 1989 to 1993. Other three-time winners include Steve Davis, Paul Hunter, Mark Selby, and Cliff Thorburn, while Alex Higgins, John Higgins, Neil Robertson, Judd Trump, and Mark Williams have each claimed the title twice. O'Sullivan is also the youngest champion, securing victory at the age of 19 years and 69 days in 1995, while Stuart Bingham, at 43 years and 243 days in 2020, is the oldest champion.

Delve into our sportsbook reviews to uncover valuable information. Below is a list of the top online sportsbooks. You can choose one for your specific snooker bets.

Meet the author

Henry Shepherd

Henry started his career in the betting industry before moving in to writing. He specialises in soccer and golf but covers a multitude of sports from all over the world.

Online Sports Betting may receive compensation if you sign up through our links. Rest assured, we avoid biases and provide honest opinions on sportsbooks. Read more here.