The Women’s World Cup offers excellent betting opportunities as the best teams compete for the top prize. We’ll cover everything about women’s world cup betting on this page.

In 2023, the ninth edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup is slated for the summer. Australia and New Zealand will be joint hosts for this intercontinental football tournament for women that will start on 20 July and end on 20 August.

It will be the first-ever international women's football event to have a double host nation and the opening senior World Cup across multiple confederations, considering Australia belongs to the Asian Confederation. In contrast, New Zealand belongs to the Oceania Confederation.

A unique aspect of this competition is that it will be oversized with 32 teams instead of 24, mirroring the same format employed by the men's World Cup. To kick off things, New Zealand compatriots will clash with Norway at Eden Park in Auckland on 20 July 2023. The final match is scheduled at Stadium Australia in Sydney on August 20th of that year. The USA is defending champions following two consecutive tournaments.

Women’s World Cup 2023 Betting Odds

With the event due to take place in the summer of 2023, there is still a long way to go before you lock in your confirmed winners. But we have the latest women’s world cup 2023 betting odds available from top-tier providers. The womens world cup betting odds were last updated on January 26, 2023:

Women's World CupBovadaMyBookieGTBets

You can find a range of other soccer betting odds available for all kinds of events, ranging from the MLS to the World Cup 2026.

Where Will The World Cup Take Place?

Australia and New Zealand put forward thirteen possible sites in twelve host cities for the tournament in the proposal sent to FIFA, recommending at least ten stadiums be used—five in each country. The primary notion of the joint bid envisaged the arenas separated into three main travel junctions: South Hub with Perth, Adelaide, Launceston, and Melbourne, East Hub incorporating Brisbane, Newcastle, Sydney, Melbourne, and Launceston, and New Zealand Hub comprising Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin. The Sydney Football Stadium was the only freshly built stadium within the bid undergoing a major refit replacing the old Football Stadium on the same premises.

On June 10, 2020, FIFA released their assessment of the offer, highlighting that most of the stadiums on the list met their hosting specifications in terms of capacity, except Adelaide and Auckland, which needed to meet the necessary capacities for proposed tournament stages. Many areas covered in the bid are anticipated to endure slight modifications, including new floodlighting, pitch transformations, and non-binary changing rooms, before the competition begins.

On 31 March 2021, FIFA declared the last host urban areas and venue choices. Five urban areas and six stadiums will be utilized in Australia, and four cities and arenas in New Zealand. From the proposed scenes, neither Newcastle nor Launceston was chosen in Australia, and Christchurch was disregarded in New Zealand. The inaugural match will occur at Eden Park in Auckland, with Stadium Australia in Sydney holding the decisive game of the 2023 Women's World Cup. As a piece of the marking, all urban communities will utilize local names (Indigenous Australian and Maori in New Zealand) close by their English names to "reconcile and respect the first proprietors of the land."

The beginning games (group stages) from 20 July 2023 to 3 August 2023 will be facilitated at Auckland's Eden Park and the Sydney Football Stadium in Sydney. The third-place match and finals occurring on 19 and 20 August 2023 will be played at Brisbane's Lang Park and Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Women’s World Cup Schedule 2023

Women’s World Cup Schedule 2023

The group games will be played between the 20th of July and the 3rd of August, and then we will move to the knockout stages.

  • Round of 16: 5th-8th of August
  • Quarter Finals: 11th-12th of August
  • Semi-Finals: 15th-16th of August
  • Third Place Play-off: 19th of August
  • Final: 20th of August

Which Countries Will Be At The Women’s World Cup 2023?

While the final 32 teams haven’t yet been confirmed, we are almost there. We will keep this page updated with the teams as FIFA lists them. Let’s take a look at those teams involved. 

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.
  • Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada.
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan.
  • Group D: England, Playoff Winner of Group B, Denmark, China.
  • Group E: United States, Vietnam, Netherlands, Playoff Winner of Group A.
  • Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Playoff Winner of Group C.
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina.
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea.

Women’s World Cup Qualification

Most of the 2023 Women's World Cup qualification has been determined. Twenty-nine teams have made it through, while three additional will be concluded with a play-in round.

Six different confederations fight against each other to offer spots at the tournament: below is a catalog of federations and the number of places they can give to countries in the Women's World Cup event.

  • AFC (Asia): 6
  • CAF (Africa): 4
  • CONCACAF (North/Central America & Caribbean): 4
  • CONMEBOL (South America): 3
  • OFC (Oceania): 1
  • UEFA (Europe): 11
  • Inter-Confederation Playoff: 3

Past Women’s World Cup Winners

Since the start of the Women's World Cup competition in 1991, the United States has clinched the maximum number of tournaments with four. Germany is next in line with two triumphs. Take a look at the past five results below:

  • 2019 - United States 2 over Netherlands 0 (Host: France)
  • 2015 - United States 5 over Japan 2 (Host: Canada)
  • 2011 - Japan 2 (3) over United States 2 (1) (Host: Germany)
  • 2007 - Germany 2 over Brazil 0 (Host: China)
  • 2003 - Germany 2 over Sweden 1 (Host: United States)

Women’s World Cup Past Top Goal Scorers

  • 2019 - Megan Rapinoe (6) - United States
  • 2015 - Célia Šašić (6) - Germany
  • 2011 - Homare Sawa (5) - Japan
  • 2007 - Marta (7) - Brazil
  • 2003 - Birgit Prinz (7) - Germany

Meet the author

Eric Uribe

Eric has been passionate about sports since he was 10 years old. This passion led him to pursue a career in sports journalism, where he reported on various sporting events, ranging from high school games to professional leagues, for several years. Eric now channels his ...